The State of Nevada Aging and Disability Services Division provides **Adult Protective Services** for vulnerable persons age 18-59, in addition to persons 60 years and older, collectively referred to as vulnerable adults. Adult Protective Services serves all of Nevada.

**Vulnerable adult abuse is a crime** - If the Aging and Disability Services Division, Adult Protective Services worker believes that a crime has been committed against a vulnerable adult, a referral is made to the appropriate law enforcement agency for possible investigation and prosecution.

#### **Adult Protective Services Include:**

- investigation, which begins within 3 working days of being reported
- evaluation
- > arrangement/referral to other services

Protective services are provided if the individual is willing to accept these services.

## Who can report a case of vulnerable adult abuse?

Any person may report an incident of abuse if they have reasonable cause to believe that a vulnerable adult has been abused, neglected, exploited, isolated or abandoned. All information received as a result of a report is confidential.

Mandatory reporters *must* make the report immediately after the event, but no later than 24 hours after there is reason to believe that a vulnerable adult has been abused, neglected, exploited, isolated or abandoned.

### **Mandatory Reporters** include:

- medical professionals
- employees of hospitals and home health agencies
- social workers
- coroners
- > law enforcement employees
- adult or juvenile probation officers
- Department of Health and Human Services' employees
- mortuary or funeral home employees
- employees of the facilities providing care for older or vulnerable persons
- financial institutions

### Reports must be made to any of the following:

- > the Office of Aging and Disability Services Division (ADSD)
- > any police department or sheriff's office

If a vulnerable adult is in immediate danger, the local police, sheriff's office or emergency medical service should be contacted. If the person is not in immediate danger, the report should be made via one of the designated phone numbers.



visit our webpage: www.adsd.nv.gov/



#### **Carson City Administrative Office**

3416 Goni Road, Suite D-132 Carson City, NV 89706 P) (775) 687-4210 F) (775) 687-0574



#### **Elko Regional Office**

1010 Ruby Vista Drive, Suite 104 Elko, NV 89801 P) (775) 738-1966 F) (775) 753-8543



#### **Las Vegas Regional Office**

1860 E. Sahara Avenue Las Vegas, NV 89104 P) (702) 486-3545 F) (702) 486-3572



#### **Reno Regional Office**

9670 Gateway Drive, Suite 200 Reno, NV 89521 P) (775) 687-0800 F) (775) 688-2969

#### visit our website:

www.adsd.nv.gov



To report suspected abuse, neglect, exploitation, isolation and abandonment of vulnerable adults 18 years and older, please call:

Las Vegas/Clark County (702) 486-6930
 Statewide/All Other Areas (888) 729-0571

Aging and Disability Services Division observes the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act. No person shall be excluded from participation in, denied the benefits of, or be subjected to discrimination in any service or activity because of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or physical or mental disability under these programs. 08/2019

# **Adult Protective Services**

Nevada Aging and Disability Services Division



Steve Sisolak Governor

Richard Whitley
Director
Department of Health and Human Services

Dena Schmidt Administrator Aging and Disability Services Division

# **Adult Protective Services Mission Statement:**

To assist vulnerable adults, age 18 to 59, in addition to persons 60 years and older who are abused, neglected, exploited, isolated or abandoned by investigating, providing or arranging for services to alleviate and prevent further maltreatment while safeguarding their civil liberties.